For each MainStage production at Playwrights Horizons Theater School, the emerging theater artists of this generation collaborate with, and create innovative original content for, the students. The new works are based off of what each student and artist has to offer and how they have inspired one other throughout their creative process. 

Fall 2018 MainStage productions include THEY TOLD US NOT TO PRAY by nicHi douglas, Jenny Rachel Weiner and Lee Overtree's STAGEDREAM, and another new work by the team comprising Claire Rothrock, Ryann Weir, Nate Weida and Andrew Neisler.

Recent MainStage productions include THE ELEMENTARY SPACETIME SHOW (2018) and NOISE (2017) by César Alvarez, AN AMERICAN FEAST (2017) by The Civilians, SISTERS ON THE GROUND (2017) by Max Posner, TIME AND A HALF (2017) by Kara Lee Corthron, KRAZYTOWN (2016) by Jenny Schwartz, and EVERY NIGHT THEY GO SOMEPLACE (2016) by Jaclyn Backhaus.

THE WOLVES (2015) by Sarah DeLappe, a co-production between Playwrights Horizons Theater School and Clubbed Thumb, went on to enjoy successful runs at Powerhouse Theater, Playwrights Realm and Lincoln Center. It won a special Drama Desk Award, an Obie Award for its ensemble, was nominated for Best Play by the Lucille Lortel Awards and was a finalist for the 2017 Pulitzer Prize for Drama.